International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Bengaluru
Area of Research:  Partial Differential Equations, Control Theory and Fluid flow problems.
  +91 80 4653 6150
  mythily ictsresin

Awards and distinctions

  • Prasanta Chandra Mahalanobis Medal (2020) awarded jointly with Prof. Arup Bose, by INSA, in 2021.
  • Delivered 32nd P L Bhatnagar Memorial Award Lecture in 84th Annual Conference of the Indian Mathematical Society, in 2019.
  • Fulbright-Nehru Award for Professional Excellence award by US-India Education Foundation in 2016 to visit Virginia Tech for two semesters, one each in 2016-17 and 2017-18.
  • CNRS Poste Rouge visiting position for one semester in Toulouse University, France, selected in 2015 and 2018.
  • Fellow of The National Academy of Sciences, India, elected in 2008.
  • Fellow of the Indian Academy of Science, Bangalore, elected in January, 2007
  • Kalpana Chawla Award for women scientists from the Karnataka State Government, 2004.

Membership in academic and national/international committees


  • Member, CIMPA (Centre International de Mathématiques Pures et Appliquées) Scientific Council since 2021.
  • Member, Scientific Committee, BRICS ( Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa) Mathematical Conferences., since 2018.


  • Member, Scientific Advisory Board, IBAB ( Institute of Bioinformatics and Applied Biotechnology), Bangalore, since 2022.
  • Member, Board of Studies , School of Mathematics and Computer Science, IACS (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science) Kolkata, since 2021.
  • Council member, Indian Academy of Sciences since January 2022 - December 2024.
  • Chairman, Research Proposals Committee, NBHM, May 2019- May 2022
  • Member, Research Projects and Travel Committee, NBHM, since June 2022
  • Member, Program Committee, ICTS-TIFR, since 2019
  • Member, Project Advisory Committee, Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB), DST, Govt of India, 2018 - 2021.
  • Member, Mathematical Sciences Research Committee of CSIR 2019-2020.
  • Member, Board of Governors, IIT Gandhinagar, 2016-2019.
  • Member, Board of Governors, NIT Calicut, 2016 - 2019
  • Member, Technical Advisory Committee of Theoretical Statistics and Mathematics, Indian Statistical Institute (ISI), for 2014- 2016.

Editorial work :

  • Member, Editorial Board, Jl Ramanujam Mathematical Society, India.
  • Associate Editor, Boundary Value Problems, A Springer open journal, 2016- 2019.
  • Member, Editorial Board, Proceedings of Mathematical Sciences, Indian Academy of Sciences, 2015-2018.