ICTS provides a platform for researchers working on diverse subjects to congregate during high-quality programs of varying durations. These highly interactive sessions endorse research areas that are especially contemporary, important and intellectually challenging. The programs contribute to transforming the way people approach research, venture into unexplored directions, nurture new frontiers of science and encourage collaborations. ICTS also encourages cross-disciplinary immersions and collaborations between theorists and experimentalists, and fosters research areas of importance to India.
Current programs
06 November 2017 to 24 November 2017
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS, Bengaluru
The program focuses on geometry, dynamical systems and group actions. Topics are chosen to cover the modern aspects of these areas in which research has been very active in recent times. The program...more
  • Organizers: 
    C. S. Aravinda, Shrikrishna Dani, Krishnendu Gongopadhyay and Athanase Papadopoulos
  • Application deadline:  31 May 2017
  • Contact:  ggd2017  ictsresin
Upcoming programs
04 December 2017 to 22 December 2017
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS, Bengaluru
The International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS) and the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), are organizing a Winter School on Quantitative Systems Biology (...more
  • Organizers: 
    Sidhartha Goyal, Kavita Jain, Vijaykumar Krishnamurthy, Luca Peliti and Mukund Thattai
  • Application deadline:  01 July 2017
  • Contact:  qsb2017  ictsresin
25 December 2017 to 04 January 2018
Madhava Lecture Hall, ICTS, Bangalore
Holomorphic curves are a central object of study in complex algebraic geometry. Such curves are meaningful even when the target has an almost complex structure. The moduli space of these curves (...more
  • Organizers: 
    Somnath Basu, Rukmini Dey and Ritwik Mukherjee
  • Application deadline:  08 November 2017
  • Contact:  jhgw2017  ictsresin
08 January 2018 to 18 January 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
The Kavli Asian Winter School (KAWS) on Strings, Particles and Cosmology is a pan-Asian collaborative effort of high energy theorists from China, India, Japan and Korea to give young researchers in...more
  • Organizers: 
    Minxin Huang, Sangmin Lee, Sungjay Lee, Loganayagam R, Suvrat Raju, Tadashi Takayanagi, Masahito Yamazaki and Gang Yang
  • Application deadline:  30 September 2017
  • Contact:  kaws2018  ictsresin
27 January 2018 to 03 February 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
The program "Nonperturbative and Numerical Approaches to Quantum Gravity, String Theory and Holography" aims to bring together theorists working in the areas of lattice field theory, string theory,...more
  • Organizers: 
    Poul H. Damgaard, Masanori Hanada, Anosh Joseph, Loganayagam R, Aninda Sinha and Toby Wiseman
  • Application deadline:  20 October 2017
  • Contact:  numericalstringsbangalore  ictsresin
05 March 2018 to 17 March 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
No living organism escapes evolutionary change. Evolutionary biology thus connects all biological disciplines. To understand the processes driving evolution, we need a theoretical framework to...more
  • Organizers: 
    Deepa Agashe and Kavita Jain
  • Application deadline:  15 November 2017
  • Contact:  popgen2018  ictsresin
16 April 2018 to 26 April 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
This program is aimed at Master's- and PhD-level students who wish to be exposed to interesting problems in biology that lie at the biology-physics interface. Besides familiarity with basic biology,...more
  • Organizers: 
    Vidyanand Nanjundiah and Olivier Rivoire
  • Contact:  livingmatter2018  ictsresin
04 June 2018 to 13 June 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
Non-Hermitian Physics-"Pseudo-Hermitian Hamiltonians in Quantum Physics (PHHQP) XVIII " is the 18th meeting in the series that is being held over the years in Quantum Physics. The scope of the...more
  • Organizers: 
    Abhishek Dhar, Andrew Houck, Manas Kulkarni, Bhabani Mandal, Avadh Saxena, Rajamani Vijayaraghavan and Miloslav Znojil
  • Application deadline:  31 December 2017
  • Contact:  nhp2018  ictsresin
27 June 2018 to 13 July 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
This advanced level school is the ninth in the series. This is a pedagogical school, aimed at bridging the gap between masters-level courses and topics in statistical physics at the frontline of...more
  • Organizers: 
    Abhishek Dhar and Sanjib Sabhapandit
  • Application deadline:  31 January 2018
  • Contact:  bssp  ictsresin
16 July 2018 to 10 August 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
This program aims to address various aspects of integrability and its role in the advancement of Mathematics, Mathematical Physics, Condensed Matter Physics and Statistical Mechanics. The scope of...more
  • Organizers: 
    Alexander Abanov, Rukmini Dey, Fabian Essler, Manas Kulkarni, Joel Moore, Leon Takhtajan, Vishal Vasan and Paul Wiegmann
  • Application deadline:  31 January 2018
  • Contact:  integrability2018  ictsresin
08 December 2018 to 22 December 2018
Madhava Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
In 2000, S. Fomin and A. Zelevinsky introduced Cluster Algebras as abstractions of a combinatoro-algebraic phenomenon that is found in many different areas throughout mathematics. Defined as a sub-...more
  • Organizers: 
    Ashish Gupta and Ashish K Srivastava
  • Contact:  cluster_alge  ictsresin