Past Discussion Meetings
14 February 2019 to 16 February 2019
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
This is an annual discussion meeting of the Indian statistical physics community attended by scientists, postdoctoral fellows and graduate students, from across the country, working in the broad area...more
  • Organizers: 
    Ranjini Bandyopadhyay, Abhishek Dhar, Kavita Jain, Rahul Pandit, Sanjib Sabhapandit, Samriddhi Sankar Ray and Prerna Sharma
  • Contact:  ispcm2019  ictsresin
27 December 2018 to 29 December 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS, Bangalore
ML (Machine Learning) has enjoyed tremendous practical success in the last decade with applications ranging from e-commerce to self-driving cars. The success of deep networks in vision and speech...more
  • Organizers: 
    Chiranjib Bhattacharya, Sunita Sarawagi, Ravi Sundaram and SVN Vishwanathan
  • Application deadline:  15 December 2018
  • Contact:  tbml2018  ictsresin
17 December 2018 to 21 December 2018
Emmy Noether Hall, ICTS, Bengaluru
This discussion meeting is aimed at promoting fruitful interactions between theoretical physicists and mathematicians in areas that could be of common interest. In the past few decades, the...more
  • Organizers: 
    Rajesh Gopakumar and Minhyong Kim
  • Contact:  program  ictsresin
10 December 2018 to 21 December 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
The study of spaces of complex structures on a Riemann surface, the so-called Moduli space and Teichmüller space is a classical and well-studied area of mathematics, with relations and...more
  • Organizers: 
    Krishnendu Gongopadhyay, Subhojoy Gupta, Francois Labourie, Mahan Mj and Pranab Sardar
  • Application deadline:  09 September 2018
  • Contact:  sgps2018  ictsresin
26 November 2018 to 08 December 2018
Madhava Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
Due to unavoidable circumstances, the program "The Fargues-Fontaine Curve: Insights from Perfectoid spaces and p-adic Hodge Theory" that was to be held between Nov 26-Dec 9, 2018 stands cancelled.more
  • Organizers: 
    U.K. Anandavardhanan and Sujatha Ramdorai
  • Contact:  program  ictsresin
01 October 2018 to 06 October 2018
Madhava Lecture Hall, ICTS, Bangalore
The discussion meeting on Complex Algebraic Geometry will be centered around the "Infosys-ICTS Ramanujan lectures" of Professor Claire Voisin. Complex algebraic geometry is a rich, classical area of...more
  • Organizers: 
    Indranil Biswas, Mahan Mj and A. J. Parameswaran
  • Contact:  program  ictsresin
16 July 2018 to 27 July 2018
Madhava Lecture Hall, ICTS, Bangalore
The power of symmetries lies at the heart of interaction between modern mathematics and theoretical physics. A classic instance of such an interaction is the parallel development of Quantum Mechanics...more
  • Organizers: 
    Aswin Balasubramanian, Saurav Bhaumik, Indranil Biswas, Abhijit Gadde, Rajesh Gopakumar and Mahan Mj
  • Application deadline:  30 April 2018
  • Contact:  qftgrt2018  ictsresin
16 June 2018 to 25 June 2018
Madhava Lecture Hall, ICTS, Bangalore
This workshop on geometry and topology for lecturers is aimed for participants who are lecturers in universities/institutes and colleges in India. This will enable lecturers from institutions all...more
  • Organizers: 
    C. S. Aravinda and Rukmini Dey
  • Application deadline:  15 April 2018
  • Contact:  gtl2018  ictsresin
21 May 2018 to 02 June 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore
In the past twenty years, the discovery of the AdS/CFT correspondence has revolutionized the study of string theory and quantum gravity. The correspondence has also led to the discovery of far-...more
  • Organizers: 
    Pallab Basu, Avinash Dhar, Rajesh Gopakumar, R. Loganayagam, Gautam Mandal, Shiraz Minwalla, Suvrat Raju, Sandip Trivedi and Spenta Wadia
  • Contact:  adscft20  ictsresin
07 May 2018 to 13 May 2018
Madhava Lecture Hall, ICTS, Bangalore
RAD@home is the only Indian citizen-science research program in astronomy. It is a Nation-wide Inter-University collaboratory of 100 plus trained citizen-scientists (aka e-astronomers). Selected...more
  • Organizers: 
    Ananda Hota, Chiranjib Konar and Sravani Vaddi
  • Application deadline:  20 April 2018
  • Contact:  RADatICTS2018  ictsresin