International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Bengaluru
Area of Research:  Fluid Dynamics
  +91 80 4653 6370    
  rama  ictsresin


  • Archana Sharma Memorial Award Lecture, National Academy of Sciences India, 2022
  • Distinguished Alum Award, IIT Delhi, 2022
  • Kirk Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Isaac Newton Institute, 2022
  • Elected Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, 2022
  • Eminent Engineer, 35th National Convention of Chemical Engineers, Institution of Engineers, India, 2019
  • Platinum Jubilee Prize, Aerospace Engineering Department, Indian Institute of Science, 2017
  • Elected Fellow of the American Physical Society (Division of Fluid Dynamics), 2013
  • Mary Sears Fellow, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, 2012
  • Elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru, 2009
  • Won the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (Engineering Sciences), 2007
  • Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Scie­­nces, Allahabad, 2004



  • Guest member, Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics Editorial Committee, 2022
  • Editorial Board Member, JFM Perspectives (Journal of Fluid Mechanics), 2022 onwards
  • Divisional Associate Editor, Physical Review Letters, 2020 onwards
  • Editorial Board member, Physical Review Fluids, 2016-2021
  • Editorial Advisory Board member, Physics of Fluids, till 2014-2015
  • Editorial Board member, Pramana, 2015-2018
  • Editorial Board member, Sadhana, 2013-2015