Abhishek Dhar, Andrew Houck, Manas Kulkarni, Bhabani Mandal, Avadh Saxena, Rajamani Vijayaraghavan and Miloslav Znojil
04 June 2018 to 13 June 2018
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore

Non-Hermitian Physics-"Pseudo-Hermitian Hamiltonians in Quantum Physics (PHHQP) XVIII" is the 18th meeting in the series that is being held over the years in Quantum Physics.

The scope of the program on Non-Hermitian Physics is highly interdisciplinary, being aimed at mathematicians, theoretical physicists as well as experimental physicists who are working on different aspects of non-Hermitian physics. The purpose is to bring together experienced as well as young scientists, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who are working actively and/or interested in working on various aspect of quantum as well as classical physics in which non-Hermitian phenomena play important roles.

Broad topics that will be included (but not restricted to) under the umbrella of non-Hermitian systems in this program are:

  1. Non-Hermitian / Pseudo-Hermitian quantum theories
  2. Open quantum systems (recent theoretical developments, state-of-the-art numerical advances and experimental progress)
  3. Applications in Optics and Non-equilibrium statistical mechanics
  4. Cavity-QED and circuit-QED systems (Hybrid Quantum Systems), Quantum Gases in Cavities, Quantum Devices
  5. Recent developments in PT-symmetric systems (theory and experiment)
  6. PT-symmetric discrete systems with applications in condensed matter and photonics

Non-Hermitian systems are not only of fundamental interest in physics and mathematics but have also been instrumental in technological advances. For example, the ideas of non-Hermitian physics have recently been used for the realization of novel quantum devices such as microwave amplifiers, masers (lasers in microwave regime) and quantum diodes. This program will also provide the platform to discuss the recent important role of non-Hermitian physics for future technologies.

During the program, Prof. Michael Berry (H H Wills Physics Laboratory, Bristol, UK) will be delivering the Distinguished ICTS - Infosys Chandrasekhar Lectures.


  • A. Andrianov (St Petersburg, Russia)
  • C. M. Bender (St. Louis, USA)
  • D. Christodoulides (CREOL, USA)
  • A. Fring (City University, London)
  • R. Gopakumar (ICTS-TIFR, India)
  • N. Hatano (IIS,Tokyo)
  • S. R. Jain (BARC, Mumbai)
  • A. Mostafazadeh (Koc University, Turkey)
  • I. Rotter (MPI, Dresden)
  • A. D. Stone (Yale, USA) 
  • Gunter Wunner (Stuttgart, Germany)
31 December 2017
nhp2018  ictsresin