Error message

Kaapi with Kuriosity
Swapan Chattopadhyay (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)
4:00 pm to 5:30 pm Sunday, 27 November 2022
Jawaharlal Nehru Planetarium, Bengaluru


We will take an adventure ride on beams of charged particles and light --- from their birth at a source and then eventually racing at the speed of light, gaining energy and packing information along the way and finally directing its energy and information into the heart of physical and living matter, probing the mysteries of the natural world around us. We will peek into the amazingly intricate subatomic structure and function of matter as elementary particles and complex living molecules down to the tiniest dimensions and shortest time-scales of nature. The journey will also take us to our remote past to an early and dark universe --- all made possible via beams of amazing particles and light! How do we create such probing rays of energy and information to ‘strobe’ the Tandava natyam? That is the story we will weave.

About the speaker:

Swapan Chattopadhyay is a particle physicist, with contributions to innovative high energy particle colliders, exotic light sources and lasers based on free electrons, and “ultra-fast” sciences, for which he received the Berkeley Halbach prize. He is DIrector Emeritus, Cockcroft Institute (UK), where he held the  Sir John Cockcroft Chair of Physics (UK), and Distinguished Scientist Emeritus, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (USA), with global affiliations at CERN (Geneva, Switzerland), University of California at Berkeley (USA) and Stanford University (USA). Currently he is spending autumn 2022 in Bangalore as  Infosys Chair Visiting Professor at IISc and Adjunct Professor of TIFR (ICTS). Following B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees from St Xavier’s College (Calcutta University) and IIT Kharagpur respectively, he completed Ph.D. (Physics) from UC Berkeley and post-doctoral research at CERN. He is a Fellow of the APS, AAAS (US), IoP (UK), Royal Society for Arts (UK), and a corresponding Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (UK).