Advertisement No.: --
Date: 18 June 2013

Applications are invited for one EADS Postdoctoral Prize Fellowship at the Astrophysical Relativity group of the International Centre for Theoretical Sciences - Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (ICTS-TIFR) in Bangalore, India. The fellowship is part of the International Teaching and Research Chair titled “Mathematics of Complex Systems,” funded by the EADS Foundation. The chair position is jointly hosted by the TIFR Centre for Applicable Mathematics (TIFR-CAM) and ICTS-TIFR.

The fellowship is offered in the area of gravitational-wave- physics and astronomy, including analytical- and numerical relativity, high-performance computing, data analysis etc. Candidates are expected to have a PhD in Physics or Astrophysics with an excellent track record. Although PhDs in gravitational-wave physics, relativistic astrophysics, cosmology etc. are preferred, candidates from other areas with strong analytical and computational skills will also be considered.

Salary and benefits
The initial appointment will be for two years, with a possibility of extension up to four years. Renewal for the third year will depend on a comprehensive review of the scientific activity of the Fellow. The salary will be comparable to that of an assistant professor in India (Rs. 50,000 per month during the first year, with 10% increase in subsequent years). In addition, a research grant of Rs. 150,000 per annum is also available, apart from relocation allowances and medical benefits. Fellows can also opt for Institute accommodation or a house rent allowance that amounts to 30% of the fellowship.

How to apply
Interested candidates are requested to apply online with their CV, list of publications, a research proposal of not more than two pages, and a covering letter (PDF).  The nominal deadline is 31 July 2013; but applications will be considered until the positions are filled. The nominal starting date of 1 October 2013 is negotiable. Informal queries may be addressed to ajith@icts.res.in.

Astrophysical Relativity at ICTS
The Astrophysical Relativity group includes P. Ajith (faculty member), Bala Iyer, Tarun Souradeep, Rana Adhikari (adjunct faculty), Manjari Bagchi and Chandra Kant Mishra (senior postdoctoral scholars). K. G. Arun, Sascha Husa and Mark Hannam are visiting associates. Adjunct faculty members and visiting associates are expected to spend from several weeks to a few months every year at ICTS. Several undergraduate and graduate students are also expected to join the group this year. The group has strong involvement in the proposed LIGO-India project, the IndIGO consortium and the LIGO Scientific Collaboration. In addition, the group expects to develop close collaborations with the astrophysics and gravitational physics groups of the neighboring Indian Institute of Science and Raman Research Institute, in addition to other research groups of ICTS. The group is organizing a one-month long ICTS program in numerical relativity during June-July 2013. Such programs are expected to be organized regularly. A high-performance computer cluster will be available at the Centre starting from June. In addition, group members will have access to several large clusters in India and abroad.