01 February 2022

ICTS-Infosys Madhava Chair Professor Ashoke Sen was awarded the prestigious Atul Chandra Gupta Distinguished Alumnus Award of the Presidency University Alumni Association. 

Prof. Sen’s numerous seminal contributions include his landmark discovery of striking evidence for strong-weak coupling duality in string theory and quantum field theory, and his detailed microscopic counting of black hole entropy in several compactifications of string theory. Prof. Sen has won several awards, including the Dirac Medal and the Padma Bhushan. He was also among the first recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize. 

Among the past recipients of the Atul Chandra Gupta Distinguished Alumnus Award are Amartya Sen and Abhijit Banerjee.