21 February 2020

Sujata Ramdorai, a Senior Associate faculty at ICTS,  has been awarded the  Krieger-Nelson Prize for her exceptional contributions towards research in mathematics, by the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS).

Sujatha Ramdorai currently holds a Canada Research Chair at the University of British Columbia, Canada. She was previously a Professor at the School of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research- Mumbai. Her research focuses on algebraic theory of quadratic forms, arithmetic geometry of elliptic curves, the study of motives and noncommutative Iwasawa theory. She is also a recipient of the prestigious Ramanujan Prize (2006), Government of India’s Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award (2004) and is an elected fellow of the Indian National Academy of Sciences (2005). She has also served on the Indian Knowledge Commission- a high-level advisory body to the Prime Minister of India on education, science, technology, agriculture, industry, and governance.

The Krieger-Nelson Prize, jointly named in honour of the mathematicians Cecilia Krieger and Evelyn Nelson, is awarded to women mathematicians in recognition for their outstanding contributions to research. Ramdorai will be presented with the award during the CMS Summer Meeting in Ottawa, Ontario in June 2020. The prize consists of a hand carved stone sculpture by an indigenous First Nations artist and an invitation to deliver the Prize Lecture.