Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in FieldCollectionItemEntity->fetchHostDetails() (line 302 of /home/it/www/www-icts/sites/all/modules/contrib/field_collection/
Anish Ghosh (TIFR, India), Stefano Luzzatto (ICTP, Italy) and Marcelo Viana (IMPA, Brazil)
23 September 2019 to 04 October 2019
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore

Ergodic theory has its origins in the the work of  L. Boltzmann on the kinetic theory of gases. The closely related field of dynamical systems has a much older origin, going back at least to Newtonian mechanics. Both subjects have since flourished into extremely active subjects with connections to many parts of mathematics and the physical sciences. Progress has been especially rapid in the last few years in differentiable dynamics and homogeneous dynamics. Differentiable dynamics studies flows on smooth manifolds and has links with geometry while homogeneous dynamics is the study of subgroup actions on homogeneous spaces of Lie groups and has connections to number theory. It is the aim of this two week workshop to gather top experts in these two subjects to deliver expositions on the state of the art in these subjects. The first week will be devoted to differentiable dynamics and the second week to homogeneous dynamics.

During the program, the Infosys-ICTS Ramanujan lectures will be delivered by Prof. Elon Lindenstrauss and the ICTS Distinguished lectures by Prof. Marcelo Viana.

Invited Speakers

Week 1:

  1. Alex Blumenthal, Maryland 
  2. Carlangelo Liverani, Rome 
  3. Ian Melbourne, University of Warwick, Coventry
  4. Jana Rodriguez-Hertz, Shenzen
  5. Andy Scott Hammerlindl, Monash University, Melbourne
  6. Dalia Terhesiu, Leiden University, NL
  7. Marcelo Viana, IMPA 
  8. Khadim War, IMPA 
  9. Zhiyuan Zhang, Princeton

Week 2

  1. S. G. Dani, University of Mumbai
  2. M.S. Raghunathan, CBS, Mumbai
  3. Federico Rodriguez-Hertz, Penn State 
  4. Dmitry Kleinbock, Brandeis University
  5. Seonhee Lim, Seoul National University 
  6. Elon Lindenstrauss, Hebrew University of Jerusalem 
  7. Jens Marklof, University of Bristol 
  8. Shahar Mozes, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  9.  Amos Nevo, Technion, Haifa
  10. Rene Rühr, Technion, Israel
  11. Cagri Sert, ETH Zurich

Minicourse Lecturers

Week 1:

  1. Sylvain Crovisier, Paris Sud, France
  2. Stefano Luzzatto, ICTP

Week 2:

  1. Dmitry Kleinbock, Brandeis University​
  2. Elon Lindenstrauss, Hebrew University of Jerusalem 
  3. Amos Nevo, Technion, Haifa

Both weeks will feature research talks by leading mathematicians as well as mini courses. A number of slots will be available in the program for younger participants to present their research and a poster session will also be organized.

The program is jointly organised and supported by ICTP and IMPA.


20 May 2019
etds2019  ictsresin