C. H. Ishwara-Chandra, Ajit Kembhavi, Preeti Kharb (Convener), Dharam Vir Lal, Anthony Readhead and C. S. Stalin
12 October 2015 to 20 October 2015
Ramanujan Lecture Hall, ICTS Bangalore

Active Galactic Nuclei (AGN) are the luminous centers of galaxies that are believed to be powered by accretion of matter on to supermassive black holes. Bipolar outflows or jets that are launched from the accretion-disk black hole systems carry away angular momentum and impact the surrounding matter both inside and outside the host galaxies. Given the current computational power, AGN have become a test bed for general relativistic magnetohydrodynamics. AGN are sites of coalescing supermassive black holes, which are one of the primary science drivers of gravitational wave astronomy.  

AGN jet astrophysics is at an important and exciting junction in time with the availability of ever-more sensitive multi-wavelength data and increased computing power. This program will bring leading experts working on various aspects of AGN jet physics from around the world to Bangalore. The program will prove to be an invaluable opportunity for boosting AGN studies in India in time for India's participation in upcoming mega projects like SKA, TMT, LIGO-India, and ASTROSAT.

Pedagogical lectures will be delivered on the first two days on topics related to the advanced-level talks that will take place later in the program. Talks highlighting the latest results on AGN Jets and Outflows from new observatories like the ALMA, NuSTAR, and Fermi-GST among others, will be presented on days 3-7. An evening talk by Dr. Bernard Fanaroff will take place on day 5. Tutorials on Introduction to CASA software for ALMA, EVLA, GMRT radio data-reduction, and NuSTARDAS software for NuSTAR X-ray data-reduction, will be held on the final two days of the program.

This program is organized in partnership with the Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore.

Roger Blandford (Stanford University), Garret Cotter (University of Oxford), C. H. Ishwara-Chandra (NCRA-TIFR), Ajit Kembhavi (IUCAA), Gopal-Krishna (Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences), Robert Laing (ESO), Christopher O’Dea (University of Manitoba), Anthony Readhead (California Institute of Technology), Prajval Shastri (IIA), Ashok Singal (PRL)

jetsbangalore  ictsresin